Announcements and More

We Have Rained OFF!!

Due to rain and wet conditions, Crystal Motor Speedway
has cancelled events scheduled for May 30th.


I can always tell the weather when I wake up on Saturday morning and see 34 new "R Word" list requests. As of 12:15M, I haven't been notified of anything but... but... it is raining ever so lightly where I am, about 8 miles from the track. You can 'rely' on FB for your news but I read an awful lot of crap up there that is a long way from truth. I post nothing here until it is official. If you want to be on the "R Word" list, email or text me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  I ALWAYS send a response back so you know you were added.

This week at Crystal Motor is a night of all six divisions. Pit gates open at 4:30 and the main grandstand gates open at 5PM. Racing begins at 7:30. Adults are $12 and kids 5-11 are $5. Pit passes are $25. More information can be obtained by calling the track office at 989.235.5200.  The 2015 SCHEDULE IS HERE.

New News! - A)The Michigan Traditional Sprints will return to CMS on August 15th after being rained out last week. B) Pursuant to tightening State and local laws, campers need to register to camp at the track. At this time, there is no fee but you must register. Both the grandstand ticket booth and the pit booths have the forms. C) All four wheelers, golf carts and or other forms of camp ground 'transportation' must be registered and have some type of identifying sign or number on them. Ask at one of the booths for more information!  

The track has plenty of primitive camping available.  More information can be obtained by calling the track office at 989.235.5200. The 2015 SCHEDULE IS HERE.

We will be live streaming the races tonight starting about 7:25 or so and you can watch on your pc HERE while I-Pad users can watch HERE The other link for I-pads or I-pods is here
Our "R Word" list has topped out at over 1200 people so far. Naturally, I was on the road when Ron called me so I was a bit slow getting it out. When the notification for this cancellation went out, I had over 43 bounce backs. If you had registered and didn't get a notice, PLEASE send me a new request. I deleted the bounce backs from my list. Let's get get the 'lost' home again! You can join our "R Word" list by sending an email or TEXTING to this email address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  If you are on the list and your email has changed, drop me a note!
There was a modification to the rules concerning transponders. While it was changed in the rules, I failed to post here it here. This rule was modified April 21st, 2015. It says: "18. Transponders must be mounted on the right side and the back of rear axle and in an orange transponder pouch. If your transponder falls off you may not be scored and you will be responsible for replacing the transponder.Any racer caught trying to modify or deliberately changing location of transponder will be disqualified."  Check with your tech inspector if you have questions.
The 2015 rules packages are here: LATE MODEL, IMCA, PRO STOCK, STREET STOCK, and the GENERAL CMS RULES. The 2015 SCHEDULE IS HERE.

You can reach me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. as you have been able to reach me since this site started back in 1993. I have or can get you the honest answer far more often than you can get it on FaceBook. You may find this hard to believe but not everything you read on FB is true.

For those that intend to have minors entering the pits, here is the minor release form to have pre-filled out. PLEASE NOTE! "Legal" people say you need to do one of two things. Fill it out and have it notarized or fill it out but don't sign it until you are at the track so track officials can countersign it. Other forms will be posted here shortly.


September 3, 2011

The final event of the night was the Smokers Club Street Stocks for their 15 lap feature event. With rules opened up there were a lot of new names but it was a couple of crystal regulars who would come out on top. Dave Grega would come home victorious in the feature.

Feature Winner Street Stocks - Dave Grega, Sept 3, 2011Heat race action went to Anthony Carlton and Will Stanley.

A Feature

  1. David Grega (Fruitport, MI)
  2. James Prochazka (St. Johns, MI)
  3. J.R. Schmid (Sheridan, MI)
  4. Mike Vandermark, Jr. (Sand Lake, MI)
  5. Josh Sternberg (Muskegon, MI)
  6. Doug McKeown, Sr. (Sidney, MI)
  7. Gary VanderMark (Lowell, MI)
  8. Jasen Wiley (Fenwick, MI)
  9. Will Stanley (Lake, MI)
  10. Ricky Smith Sr. (Flint, MI)
  11. Mike Chlebek (Fenwick, MI)
  12. Robert Town
  13. Anthony Carlton (Clio, MI)
  14. Brooke Ann Brasington (Sheridan , MI)
  15. Matt Kammers
  16. Luke Sickles (St. Johns, MI)
  17. John Granzo (Belding, MI)
  18. Kyle Thomas (Clio, MI)
  19. Dennis Parker
  20. Doug Helsel (Belding, MI)

B Feature

  1. Matt Kammers
  2. Mike Chlebek (Fenwick, MI)
  3. Brooke Ann Brasington (Sheridan , MI)
  4. Robert Town
  5. Anthony Carlton (Clio, MI)
  6. John Granzo (Belding, MI)
  7. Luke Sickles (St. Johns, MI)
  8. Kyle Thomas (Clio, MI)
  9. Dennis Parker
  10. Doug Helsel (Belding, MI)
  11. Joel Hummel II (Nashville, MI)
  12. Robbie Sternberg (Muskegon, MI)
  13. Larry Bulson III (White Cloud, MI)
  14. John Williams (Merrill, MI)

Heat 1

  1. J.R. Schmid (Sheridan, MI)
  2. Jasen Wiley (Fenwick, MI)
  3. Gary VanderMark (Lowell, MI)
  4. Ricky Smith Sr. (Flint, MI)
  5. James Prochazka (St. Johns, MI)
  6. Anthony Carlton (Clio, MI)
  7. Mike Chlebek (Fenwick, MI)
  8. Robert TownDennis Parker
  9. Larry Bulson III (White Cloud, MI)
  10. Robbie Sternberg (Muskegon, MI)
  11. Luke Sickles (St. Johns, MI)

Heat 2

  1. Will Stanley (Lake, MI)
  2. Josh Sternberg (Muskegon, MI)
  3. Mike Vandermark, Jr. (Sand Lake, MI)
  4. David Grega (Fruitport, MI)
  5. Doug McKeown, Sr. (Sidney, MI)
  6. Matt Kammers
  7. Kyle Thomas (Clio, MI)
  8. John Granzo (Belding, MI)
  9. Doug Helsel (Belding, MI)
  10. John Williams (Merrill, MI)
  11. Brooke Ann Brasington (Sheridan , MI)
  12. Joel Hummel II (Nashville, MI)