Announcements and More

This Holiday Weekend 
TWO Big Nights of Racing!

This week at Crystal Motor is our annual celebration of the Memorial Day weekend. Weather permitting, race events will be run on both Saturday and Sunday nights. Saturday night is a full show plus the Hiram Lightening Sprints and the 'Relay For Life' fundraiser. Sunday night has the first showing of the Michigan Traditional Sprints joining the lineup with the Flinn Stocks have the night off. The track has plenty of primitive camping available. 

Pit gates open at 4:30 and the main grandstand gates open at 5PM. Racing begins at 7:30 both nights. On Saturday, adults are $12 and kids 5-11 are $5. Pit passes are $25. On Sunday night, adult prices to the grand stands will be $15 while the kids prices remain at $5 and the pit passes are still $25. More information can be obtained by calling the track office at 989.235.5200 The 2015 SCHEDULE IS HERE.

Because I was busy doing a bunch of other 'stuff,' I neglected to turn on the DVR. I apologize... but not all is lost. You can go back to our YouTube experiment and watch it right HERE
We will be live streaming the races tonight starting about 7:25 or so and you can watch on your pc HERE while I-Pad users can watch HERE The other link for I-pads or I-pods is here
Our "R Word" list has topped out at over 1200 people so far. Naturally, I was on the road when Ron called me so I was a bit slow getting it out. When the notification for this cancellation went out, I had over 43 bounce backs. If you had registered and didn't get a notice, PLEASE send me a new request. I deleted the bounce backs from my list. Let's get get the 'lost' home again! You can join our "R Word" list by sending an email or TEXTING to this email address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  If you are on the list and your email has changed, drop me a note!
There was a modification to the rules concerning transponders. While it was changed in the rules, I failed to post here it here. This rule was modified April 21st, 2015. It says: "18. Transponders must be mounted on the right side and the back of rear axle and in an orange transponder pouch. If your transponder falls off you may not be scored and you will be responsible for replacing the transponder.Any racer caught trying to modify or deliberately changing location of transponder will be disqualified."  Check with your tech inspector if you have questions.
The 2015 rules packages are here: LATE MODEL, IMCA, PRO STOCK, STREET STOCK, and the GENERAL CMS RULES. The 2015 SCHEDULE IS HERE.

You can reach me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. as you have been able to reach me since this site started back in 1993. I have or can get you the honest answer far more often than you can get it on FaceBook. You may find this hard to believe but not everything you read on FB is true.

For those that intend to have minors entering the pits, here is the minor release form to have pre-filled out. PLEASE NOTE! "Legal" people say you need to do one of two things. Fill it out and have it notarized or fill it out but don't sign it until you are at the track so track officials can countersign it. Other forms will be posted here shortly.


May 7, 2011

The Engine Pro Pro Trucks lead off the features as Bob Griffin grabbed the early lead and soon opened a ten length lead. Ashlee Scott, Scott Nieman, Allen Welch, and Tim Wood were in a big group behind him. A spin in turn two took away a decent lead but when the green fell again, Griffin took off but got immediate pressure from Nieman. Wood moved to second with four to go only to get loose and fall back behind Neiman and Carl Thayer. Griffin cruised on to take the win over Nieman, Thayer, Wood, Dave Verhaar, Scott, and Dave Peters.

Feature Winner Pro Trucks - Bob Griffin, May 7, 2011Griffin and Chance Allen marked up heat wins.


Current Points Standings (Top 20)

Pos*  Car No Driver Points

  1. 72 Scott Nieman 77
  2. 45 David Verhaar 76
  3. 40 Tim Wood 74
  4. 5 David Dancer 71
  5. 66G Robert Griffin 69
  6. 55 Dave Peters 68
  7. 7S Ashlee Scott 68
  8. 35 Richard Melton (R) 65
  9. 73 Carl Thayer 65
  10. 37 Gaven Parks 62
  11. 2 Chance Allen (R) 61
  12. 14 Allen Welch 60
  13. 38 James McKeown 56
  14. 24D Kevin Deal 39

*Red denotes position tie

A Feature

  1. Robert Griffin (Sumner, MI) 
  2. Scott Nieman (Ithaca, MI) 
  3. Carl Thayer (Ionia, MI) 
  4. Tim Wood (Edmore, MI) 
  5. David Verhaar (Blanchard, MI) 
  6. David Dancer (Elwell, MI) 
  7. Ashlee Scott (Vestaburg, MI) 
  8. Dave Peters (Alma, MI) 
  9. Richard Melton (Hubbardston, MI) 
  10. Gaven Parks (Elwell, MI) 
  11. Allen Welch 
  12. Chance Allen (Alma, MI) 
  13. James McKeown (Stanton, MI)

Heat 1

  1. Robert Griffin (Sumner, MI) 
  2. Tim Wood (Edmore, MI) 
  3. Richard Melton (Hubbardston, MI) 
  4. David Verhaar (Blanchard, MI) 
  5. Dave Peters (Alma, MI) 
  6. Gaven Parks (Elwell, MI) 
  7. Carl Thayer (Ionia, MI)

Heat 2

  1. Chance Allen (Alma, MI) 
  2. Ashlee Scott (Vestaburg, MI) 
  3. Scott Nieman (Ithaca, MI) 
  4. Allen Welch 
  5. David Dancer (Elwell, MI) 
  6. James McKeown (Stanton, MI)