Announcements and More

The SOD Sprints Are On Their Way!  

This week at Crystal Motor Speedway finds the SOD Sprints making their first of three visits to CMS. The Pro Stocks have the night off to make room for the traveling series. Pit gates open at 4:30 and the main grandstand gates open at 5PM. Racing begins at 7:30. Adults are $15 and kids 5-11 are $5. Pit passes are $25. More information can be obtained by calling the track office at 989.235.5200. The 2015 SCHEDULE IS HERE.
Weather Or Not! 

I'm getting a lot of notes about will CMS run Saturday night. I was at the track Friday morning and spoke with Ron. Barring a surprise rain storm after 6PM, we WILL be running. Yes, we know it is cold. Dress warmly, bundle up tight and all of that good stuff and we are gonna give our best. Watch this site for any changes or cancellations. We will have the latest info. You can join our "R Word" list by sending an email or TEXTING to this email address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  If you are on the list and your email has changed, drop me a note!
There was a modification to the rules concerning transponders. While it was changed in the rules, I failed to post here it here. This rule was modified April 21st, 2015. It says: "18. Transponders must be mounted on the right side and the back of rear axle and in an orange transponder pouch. If your transponder falls off you may not be scored and you will be responsible for replacing the transponder.Any racer caught trying to modify or deliberately changing location of transponder will be disqualified."  Check with your tech inspector if you have questions.

We will be live streaming the races tonight starting about 7:25 or so and you can watch on your pc HERE while I-Pad users can watch HERE. You can test your device before the races begin by clicking on one of the previous links as we have a 24/7 stream of races from 2014 running.
Are You Up To Date?? PC users should update their Flash Player at and their Shock Wave Player at" and occasionally, you need to update your Java at All are free downloads. If you are using a mobile device, understand that our upload stream can sometimes over power a device's ability to keep up. Make sure your Internet connection will hold the necessary download speed!  

The 2015 rules packages are here: LATE MODEL, IMCA, PRO STOCK, STREET STOCK, and the GENERAL CMS RULES. The 2015 SCHEDULE IS HERE.

You can reach me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. as you have been able to reach me since this site started back in 1993. I have or can get you the honest answer far more often than you can get it on FaceBook. You may find this hard to believe but not everything you read on FB is true.

For those that intend to have minors entering the pits, here is the minor release form to have pre-filled out. PLEASE NOTE! "Legal" people say you need to do one of two things. Fill it out and have it notarized or fill it out but don't sign it until you are at the track so track officials can countersign it. Other forms will be posted here shortly.


September 1, 2012

Chaney Newland picked up yet another Port City Racing Pro Stock

Feature Winner Pro Stock - September 1, 2012
as he bested Josh Loomis, Jacob Headley, Jack Emmons, Jr.,Rodney Heikkila, Todd Bush, Mike Husted, Jeramie Raby, Barry Rinard,and Aaron Raby. Newland and Heikkila scored heats.



Pro Stocks 9/1/2012

A Feature:1. Chaney Newland (, MI), 2. Josh Loomis (Weidman, MI), 3. Jacob Headley (Belding, MI), 4. Jack Emmons, Jr. (Comstock, MI), 5. Rodney Heikkila (Vestaburg, MI), 6. Todd Bush (Hudsonville, MI), 7. Mike Husted (Ionia, MI), 8. Jeramie Raby (Riverdale, MI), 9. Barry Rinard (Brant, MI), 10. Aaron Raby (Riverdale, MI), 11. Terry LaClear (Edmore, MI), 12. Don Rohn (Sheridan, MI), 13. Jason Playter, Jr. (Saranac, MI), 14. Jay McClain, 15. Marty Sowles (Stanton, MI), 16. Vern Buskirk (Crystal, MI), 17. Blake Hollenbeck (Sidney, MI),




Heat 1:1. Chaney Newland (, MI), 2. Jason Playter, Jr. (Saranac, MI), 3. Marty Sowles (Stanton, MI), 4. Aaron Raby (Riverdale, MI), 5. Jack Emmons, Jr. (Comstock, MI), 6. Josh Loomis (Weidman, MI), 7. Barry Rinard (Brant, MI), 8. Jacob Headley (Belding, MI), 9. Jay McClain,




Heat 2:1. Rodney Heikkila (Vestaburg, MI), 2. Don Rohn (Sheridan, MI), 3. Terry LaClear (Edmore, MI), 4. Jeramie Raby (Riverdale, MI), 5. Blake Hollenbeck (Sidney, MI), 6. Vern Buskirk (Crystal, MI), 7. Todd Bush (Hudsonville, MI), 8. Mike Husted (Ionia, MI),