Announcements and More

Catching Up and Getting Ready for 2015 

Hurrah! Breaking news! I just heard from Ron Flinn and was told the following: A) The annual drivers meeting in March 14th at the old elementary school in 'down town' Crystal next to the Post Office from 1 PM to 5 PM.  B) Test and Tune will be April 11th and 12th at the usual 1 PM to 5 PM times. C) We will continue to use the American Racer 970's and they should be in stock at the track by Tuesday. I would call the track at 989.235.5200 to make sure someone will be there to help you. Ron says he expects that the IMCA Mod tires will be in stock on or about March 20th. He will let me know if and when that is definite.

D) Opening night will be April 18th at 7:30 PM. E) Memorial Day Weekend racing will be May 23rd and 24th. F) The Fourth of July falls on a Saturday and in order to keep from hurting the regular Friday night tracks that surround us, CMS will only run the night of the Fourth. The Government doesn't plan on 'celebrating' on July 6th. F) The Labor Day Weekend will be August 29th and 30th and finally, G) The Great Lakes Nationals will be run on Saturday and Sunday, September 19th and 20th.

As soon as I am given a printable schedule, I'll have it posted here. Thanks!

In addition to all of that, I have been told that my weekly column will re-appear in the Mid West Racing Scene and I will not be talking about racing but rather racers. If you know of a racer or a dedicated race fan doing something extraordinary beyond the scope of racing, drop me a note. I also intend to do a live pre-race 'show' of sorts that will consist of talking to racers and their crews every week. Watch for more soon!

We had an issue with the server caching and somehow, two copies of the website had been saved and it was reverting back to an older copy of the site. That problem is solved. I have to go back and make some additions that apparently were saved on the other copy so begin to watch here for updates. You can reach me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. as you have been able to reach me since this site started back in 1993. I have or can get you the honest answer far more often than you can get it on FaceBook. You may find this hard to believe but not everything you read on FB is true.

Right about here, I need to apologize for my inattentiveness during the majority of the 2014 season. My wife began to have neurological (brain) issues early in February of 2014 and by the time things got sorted out, things had spiraled out of control and my attention was not on racing. Things haven't improved with her but they have at least stabilized. I will try to do better this season. Without my crew at the track picking up and carrying my load, things would have really been bad. I appreciate the work they did under some bad circumstances.


You can find new Pro Stock and Street Stock rules in PDF form at the links. We will have them spelled out for those not owning or using a computer shortly under the normal rules links. You can find the text version of the new rules here. Each division now has the latest updates available. Click on the "TRACK DATA" tab and select your division. 

For those of you who have Apple products that have had issues watching our live and recorded broadcasts, try downloading the Puffin browser on your I-pad, I-pod, Mac or what ever and see if it helps you. They have a free version which I understand from those who have tested it for me has a bandwidth limit of about half a race. I think the full version is $4 for whatever you need but they also tell me the new browser was quite fast and after you learned its interface, they liked it better than the standard OS browser. After you download it, reboot and then go to the ROTW site and see if the video flows for you. Check out this new browser at

Thank you for a great 2014 season at Crystal Motor Speedway. Seasons come and seasons go and 2014 was one of the memorable ones. Promoter Ron Flinn would like to thank all the fans, drivers, crew members, and sponsors for making this season worthwhile. The next 'event' is the awards banquet, held on January 10th, 2015. Watch this website or call the office at 989.235.5200 for further information. More info and photos iside!

In case you wanted to watch the replay of the latest race, GO HERE.  You can use our exclusive DVR function to jump to any point of the race by clicking on the line directly below the video.

For those that intend to have minors entering the pits, here is the minor release form to have pre-filled out. PLEASE NOTE! "Legal" people say you need to do one of two things. Fill it out and have it notarized or fill it out but don't sign it until you are at the track so track officials can countersign it. Other forms will be posted here shortly.


May 25, 2013


WINNERS 5.25.13 (363)
Text Pro Stocks 5/25/2013
A Feature:1. Vern Buskirk (Crystal, MI), 2. Jay McClain, 3. Jacob Headley (Belding, MI), 4. Mike Husted (Ionia, MI), 5. Barry Rinard (Brant, MI), 6. David Grega (Fruitport, MI), 7. Derek Schestag (Ashley, MI), 8. Jason Playter, Jr. (Saranac, MI), 9. Josh Loomis (Weidman, MI), 10. Gary Buskirk (Stanton, MI), 11. Cortland Skoog (Ionia, MI), 12. Don Rohn (Sheridan, MI), 13. Ron Harper (Orleans, MI), 14. Tom Wemigwanis (Mt. Pleasant, MI), 15. Mike Chlebek, Jr. (Fenwick, MI), 16. Blake Hollenbeck (Sidney, MI), 17. Zach Rummer (Sumner, MI), 18. Mark Davis (Portland, MI), 19. Bret Hollenbeck (Greenville, MI), 20. Tom Antor (Ensley Center, MI),

B Feature Five:1. David Grega (Fruitport, MI), 2. Cortland Skoog (Ionia, MI), 3. Tom Antor (Ensley Center, MI), 4. Zach Rummer (Sumner, MI), 5. Bret Hollenbeck (Greenville, MI), 6. Doug McKeown, Sr. (Sidney, MI), 7. Chris Schoenborn (Mt. Pleasant, MI), 8. Charlie McKenzie (Lake, MI), 9. Jeramie Raby (Riverdale, MI), 10. Ryan Teeter (Crystal, MI),

Heat 1:1. Derek Schestag (Ashley, MI), 2. Jay McClain, 3. Barry Rinard (Brant, MI), 4. Mike Chlebek, Jr. (Fenwick, MI), 5. Mark Davis (Portland, MI), 6. Cortland Skoog (Ionia, MI), 7. Jeramie Raby (Riverdale, MI), 8. Doug McKeown, Sr. (Sidney, MI),

Heat 2:1. Jason Playter, Jr. (Saranac, MI), 2. Vern Buskirk (Crystal, MI), 3. Jacob Headley (Belding, MI), 4. Blake Hollenbeck (Sidney, MI), 5. Ron Harper (Orleans, MI), 6. Bret Hollenbeck (Greenville, MI), 7. Zach Rummer (Sumner, MI), 8. Chris Schoenborn (Mt. Pleasant, MI),

Heat 3:1. Don Rohn (Sheridan, MI), 2. Mike Husted (Ionia, MI), 3. Josh Loomis (Weidman, MI), 4. Tom Wemigwanis (Mt. Pleasant, MI), 5. Gary Buskirk (Stanton, MI), 6. Tom Antor (Ensley Center, MI), 7. David Grega (Fruitport, MI), 8. Ryan Teeter (Crystal, MI), 9. Charlie McKenzie (Lake, MI),